High School Never Ends

I did some ‘blog strolling’ this morning when I bump into Lhu Wen Kai ‘s blog. After reading few of his post, I came to realize that he’s not a she, but he is one of the brilliant man I’ve bump into. You could sense the honesty in his writing. The sarcasm makes it even more fun to read. You did a tremendous job man!

I was inspired by his post ‘Friendship and Graduation‘ that I decided to write about it. I’ve left school 11 years a go and let me tell you something, just like the song from Bowling For Soup, High School Never Ends!

 

The whole damn world is just as obsessed
With who‘s the best dressed and who‘s having sex,
Who‘s got the money, who gets the honeys,
Who‘s kinda cute and who‘s just a mess
And you still don’t have the right look
And you don’t have the right friends
Nothing changes but the faces, the names, and the trends
High school never ends

 

I must say, this is true. Because  for the past 11 years, the high school drama thing still exist. My high school (secondary school in Malaysia) was not as pretty as it seems. I was a new girl in school and I was having a little problem adjusting myself at first. I was not very happy with how my parents moved to our new home – they sent me away to my grandma’s house and stay with her until the school terms begins. In other words, I didn’t have the chance to say goodbye to all my friends back at my previous school. So, when the school term started, I was a little upset and down because I don’t know how to start over. So, I was labeled as the snobbish new girl from Subang Jaya (Subang Jaya is known for hipsters and stylish people were from) which is so opposite of me. I was brought up in a modest family. Even some of my classmates are more hipster then I was.

For the past 4 years in secondary school, my life was totally filled with bad memories. Just imagine, one day, a friend who you thought to be your best friend, come to you and say “I think you should change yourself, be more like what we want you to be”. I was devastated and my self-esteem dropped from that moment on. The worst part is when your so call best friend go to your boyfriend and say something bad behind your back. That really hurt, it still hurts until now. It was a lesson for me in not to trust people so much because you’ll end up hurting yourself.

I was lucky to have found them. They are my definition of best friends. They accept me for who I am and we always support each other in what ever we do. I love them.

774195_10201905556144293_1932832377_o

 

4 thoughts on “High School Never Ends

  1. Lhu Wen Kai ‘s blog is one of my favorite’s too…he’s a great writer! I enjoyed your post and can’t imagine how hard that time in your life was for you. It sounds terrible! I’m glad you have some close friends now. 🙂

    • thank you so much for your understanding. it was difficult but at the end of the day all you got to do is stay strong and most importantly just be true to yourself. ^_^

Leave a Reply

